On the Pastor’s Desk

Today, I’d like to write a post on what I currently have on my desk as reading projects. Perhaps this can gave you guys some insight in what books might be reviewed in the future. It may also give you a bit more insight in regards to my personal interests or areas I’ve been studying or reading. I do plan on making this a series and perhaps writing an updated post every few weeks or months.

Let me explicitly state that this is not to boast, but rather to encourage. Maybe some of these books may be of interest to you and an area you are studying. I always want to be an encouragement and challenge Christians to be consistent readers. Reading isn’t just for pastors, but should be a discipline for all Christians to practice!

The list may seem like a lot, and it surely is, but keep in mind that I am slowly making my way through most of these works.

Everyday Reads: My Bible (NASB)!

“A man may have prodigious learning, and yet never be saved. He may be master of half the languages spoken round the globe. He may be acquainted with the highest and deepest things in heaven and earth. He may have read books till he is like a walking cyclopaedia. He may be familiar with the stars of heaven,—the birds of the air,—the beasts of the earth, and the fish of the sea . . . He may be able to discourse of all the secrets of fire, air, earth, and water. And yet, if he dies ignorant of Bible truths, he dies a miserable man” (Ryle, pp. 94-95).

Books for sermon preparation (Philippians): This is somewhat difficult since a number of commentaries that I use are on Logos (P.T. O’Brien, Bockmuehl, and Fee to name a few), but these are books that weren’t available as electronic copies, but were definitely worth purchasing in hardcopy.

Phil.Hellerman

Joseph H. Hellerman, Philippians, Exegetical Guide to the Greek New Testament. Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishing Group, 2015.

This work is worth any preacher who is serious about basing their study off the Greek New Testament. He has helped me see some of the more pressing interpretive issues related to lexical and syntactical exegesis and some of the argumentations behind some of these issues.

Phil-HarmonHarmon, Matthew. Philippians. Mentor Commentary. Great Britain: Christian Focus Publications, 2015.

I was recommended this work by a former seminary professor and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Harmon writes in a expositional fashion, yet footnotes many of the major technical decisions that need to be made when studying Philippians. I would say that lay-persons and individuals who do not know Greek would greatly benefit from this work.

Books for Personal Edification: These are books that I find to be of personal interest. They range from warmly devotional (Ryle) to a bit more on the thought provoking or theological end (Morgan; Vos).

Ryle.PracticalRyle, J.C. Practical Religion. Carlisle, PA: The Banner of Truth Trust, 2016.

Expect this book to be reviewed!

Vos-BibTheoVos, Geerhardus. Biblicla Theology: Old and New Testaments. Carlisle, PA: The Banner of Truth Trust, 2014.

This is a book I am reading through very slowly. I was told this was a seminal work on the topic of Biblical Theology, which is why I decided to read it. Vos clearly differs from the hermeneutics I was taught and practice, but it is enlightening to read about biblical theology from his reformed hermeneutic.

While I don’t plan to review this work, I think it will help broaden my understanding of Biblical Theology. While I am no scholarly hermeneutician, I do find reading works like this encouraging, challenging, and thought-provoking.

 

 

Morgan-Glory-GodThe Glory of God. Edited by Christopher W. Morgan and Robert A. Peterson. Wheaton, IL: Crossway, 2010.

I was given this book for free when I attended a Gospel Coalition Los Angeles gathering. While I have yet to break open its pages it is on my desk as one of the next books I’ll be reading. I do think I’ll end up reviewing this work on the blog.

Books for Ministry: Currently, elders at our church are brushing up on the divorce/remarriage issue. I am currently reading up on the popular view that allows for divorce/remarriage in the case of adultery or the unbeliever’s abandonment. I will explore other positions as I continue my research. I am also slowly making my way through some church polity and church leadership works.

Adams-DivorceAdams, Jay E. Marriage, Divorce, and Remarriage in the Bible: A Fresh Look at What Scripture Teaches. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1980.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JMAC-DivorceMacArthur, John. The Divorce Dilemma: God’s Last Word on Lasting Commitment. Greenville, SC: Day One Christian Ministries Inc., 2009.

 

 

Kostenberger-God-MarriageKöstenberg, Andreas J. and David W. Jones. God, Marriage, and Family: Rebuilding the Biblical Foundation, 2nd edition. Wheaton, IL: Crossway, 2010.

Leeman-CongregationalismLeeman, Jonathan. Don’t Fire Your Church Members: The Case for Congregationalism. Nashville, TN: B&H Academic, 2016.

I’ve long been waiting to clear some time to make my way thoroughly through this work. As of late I’ve been very interested in studying congregationalism and am hoping this book can help convince me or not convince me!

Thabiti-Finding-LeadersAnyabwile, Thabiti. Finding Faithful Elders and Deacons. Wheaton, IL: Crossway, 2012.

This book is one that my local church will need in the coming years. As a younger church that has the potential to grow it is vital that our current eldership faithfully disciple others to help lead and disciple the church-at-large. Looking forward to reading this.

3 thoughts on “On the Pastor’s Desk

    • Yeah, a former student of Varner who attends our church has shown me the notes that Varner gave out as the basis for this book. It looks like a great resource that will be on my shelf.

      Let me know when you want to meet up to talk about hermeneutics and BibTheo! It’s definitely an interesting topic. In my opinion there needs to be a more defined methodology of doing BibTheo, but maybe you can enlighten me as you go through your program!!!!

Leave a Reply

